Clean Cycling: Confession

A Lightened Burden

41“I am doing extremely well since the story came out. It really cleared my conscience and I feel great about it. I feel so relieved and my mind is great.”  Geneviève Jeanson, suspended for EPO use 

Genevieve, eventually had to talk

 

With all our efforts to improve our strength to weight ratio perhaps the easiest way in some cases is to lighten a burden of guilt. Geneviève Jeanson’s domination was nearly uncontestable at her premature peak. She was arguably one of the best female climbers ever to grace cycling. The sad truth is it’s likely that on her worst day completely clean, she could probably beat most on their best day, but we will never know. Her pattern for illegal performance-enhancement began early:

“It’s all about informed decisions for young people. I’ve been there and I really feel that is the way to make a difference. Kids need to know yes, you can do it without drugs so the more information, the better. We need to start [combating doping] at the junior level. We don’t talk about it, it’s like it’s a taboo.”

 

Time for talk has come. David Millar, Tour de France prologue winner, talked about it. Testing positive and going public about it has made him an anti-doping 42ambassador:

43“I tell other riders: ‘It’s very subtle when you first start to dope. If you think you’ll never do it, I thought that as well. You can never underestimate the power around you…I don’t want to race with monsters anymore. I want to race with good guys who are trying to make a difference. I want to be that good guy.’”

Prayer for Confession

“He who conceals his sins does not prosper, but whoever confesses and renounces them finds mercy.” 44Proverbs 28:13

We are thankful that acknowledgment or suspension leads to confession. We repent of all wrong doing. We pray for courage to turn from wicked ways. As a result, we ask to be cleared before God, country, community and for merciful doors to open in our restoration.

Ponder have I anything to confess? Who can support me as I begin to talk about hard things? Affirm I will be rewarded for turning away from anything injurious in my life. Watch your burden lifted upon confession and renouncement, and your hope grow with new opportunities for success.

41“Geneviève Jeanson Interview,” by Matt Hansen, Canadian Cyclist, Daily News, November 15, 2007. www.canadiancyclist.com. All quotes by Jeanson in this section are from this article.

42“Millar handed role at anti-doping agency,” First Edition Cycling News, December 7, 2007 Edited by Laura Weislo. www.cyclingnews.com

43Disgraced Rider and New U.S. Team Take the Lead Against Doping,” By Juliet Macur. NY Times, Published: November 14, 2007  www.NYTimes.com

44The Bible, New International Version, Copyright © 1973, 1978, 1984 by International Bible Society

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

