Championship Lifestyle/Time with God

The All-Powerful

33“Find yourself, and your soul, through the challenge and adventure of cycling…connecting with…God through cycling, nightly devotions, and journaling…build self-confidence, independence, teamwork and tolerance in…riders.” 10th Gear Youth Cycling Organization

More than ever, we have access to race reports, rider diaries, and cycling blogs. We seek news, insights, perspectives and helpful information from others similarly impassioned. Meanwhile, God as omnipotent/all-powerful, omniscient/all-knowing also knows cycling:

why_would_jesus_drive_singl

34“At first I saw God as my observer, my judge, keeping track of the things I did wrong, so as to know whether I merited heaven or hell when I die. He was out there sort of like a president. I recognized His picture when I saw it, but I really didn’t know Him. But later on, when I met God, it seemed as though life were rather like a bike ride, but it was a tandem bike, and I noticed that God was in the back, helping me pedal.

I don’t know when it was that He suggested that we change places, but life has not been the same since. When I had control, I knew the way. It was rather boring, but predictable. It was the shortest distance between two points. But when He took the lead, He knew delightful long cuts, up mountains, and through rocky places at breakneck speeds. It was all I could do to hang on! Even though it looked like madness, He said, ‘Just Pedal.’

Worried and anxious, I asked, ‘Where are you taking me?’ He laughed and didn’t answer, and I started to learn to trust. I forgot my boring life and entered into the adventure. And when I’d say, ‘I’m scared,’ He’d lean back and touch my hand.

He took me to people with gifts that I needed, gifts of healing, acceptance, and joy. They gave me gifts to take on my journey, and we were off again. He said, ‘Give the gifts away; they’re extra baggage, too much weight.’ So I did, to the people we met, and I found that in giving I received, and still our burden was light.

I did not trust Him at first, in control of my life. I thought He’d wreck it; but He knows bike secrets, knows how to make the bike bend to take sharp corners, knows how to jump to clear high rocks, knows how to fly to shorten scary passages. And I am learning to shut up and pedal in the strangest places, and I’m beginning to enjoy the view and the cool breeze on my face with God as my delightful constant companion. And when I’m sure I just can’t do anymore, He just smiles and says, ‘Pedal.’”

He knows and loves us. Pedaling with Him is first for champion living!

Prayer for Devotion to God
But he’s already made it plain how to live, what to do, what God is looking for in men and women.It’s quite simple: Do what is fair and just to your neighbor, be compassionate and loyal in your love, And don’t take yourself too seriously— take God seriously.” 35Micah 6:8

We are grateful for life and that You want to ride with us. We confess You are the last One we come to at times. We know that Jesus used the most rudimentary forms of transport of the day. We know you care about cycling. We pray for daily time to learn about You and for You to teach us about ourselves.

Ponder Do I speak with God and listen for His voice?Do I invite God into my cycling? Affirm I cultivate my relationship with God daily because He cares about me and therefore about my cycling. Watch and pray, read the Bible, seek His acts and guidance in your life.

 
332008 10th Gear Youth Tours www.10thgear.com<http://www.xcbikestories.comJesus, Lord of Bicycles

34“God’s Bicycle” posted August 5, 2008 on “Saddle Sore,” a daily cycling blog

35The Message, Copyright © 1993, 1994, 1995, 1996, 2000, 2001, 2002 by Eugene H. Peterson
Leave a Reply

