Cyclist of the Year

 

4“I remember making up a list…win the junior world championship…win a gold medal…be a professional within a year or two…win the world pro championship…win the Tour de France.” Greg LeMond on his extraordinary goal-setting

Aim at something, that's what you get

Greg’s list is extraordinary not just because of the level of his goals, but because these goals were made with little indication of reality. These were the dreams of a star-struck teenager inside his second or third dozen races! Yet each goal was achieved!

I always ask the dream question when initially helping an athlete set goals. I don’t want an edited version, but a spontaneous confidentiality about desire’s destination. My requirement isn’t that it has a basis in reality, but that it is truly what one dreams of doing. I used to think everyone would have the same answers – aiming at the sport’s pinnacle events. But I was humbled about how wrong I can be; everyone answers differently.

We seem to have an internal mechanism which indicates our destinies. Some adages that apply: as a man thinketh within himself, so is he; aim at nothing, that’s what you get. The key is not what the dream is but that you get at it. Uncovering that ideal which may be hidden under layers of put-downs or discouragement, dusting it off, and putting it back on the shelf like a prized trophy is today’s assignment. If you had your own panel of judges, what would you accomplish which would make you the Cyclist of the Year? It could be as simple as consistent training, as challenging as weight management, or as bombastic as Best All Around Rider. It could be a power to weight ratio figure, an increase in speed at a timed distance, or a particular event. Take some time on a ride this week to let those dreams come to you. Write it down and take aim! Your world championships await…

Prayer for Goal-Setting

“…I’ve got my eye on the goal…I’m off and running, and I’m not turning back.” 5Philippians 3:14

We are thankful that we are all given dreams! We confess our age of reason sometimes hinders uninhibited imagination. We ask for reckless internal abandonment to dare to dream again.  

Ponder What pumps me up? What is my dream in cycling? Affirm I am in wonder about how my bicycle can transport me toward accomplishments arranged for me.  Watch those fantasies turn into a well-ordered to-do list.

4“Inside Cycling with John Wilcockson: The exceptionally gifted LeMond,” By John Wilcockson
VeloNews editorial director filed September 23, 2005. Produced by: Inside Communications on www.velonews.com

 5The Message, Copyright © 1993, 1994, 1995, 1996, 2000, 2001, 2002 by Eugene H. Peterson.

Leave a Reply

