Cyclists Pray: Pray for Cyclists

Cyclists Pray

23“Tomorrow is a rest day, thank God.”  Steve Cummings, Pro Cyclist, on finishing Giro d’Italia

Where at least two agree, God can work

 

With normal race season all about over, we near the end of our annual journey together. We’ve raced through many topics, pondered many issues, and prayed for many things all year. None of them has been more important than the prayers prayed for each one in the cycling community.

Some of you, I’ve prayed for by name and hope to know specific requests in the future. I may be a fan of yours or I may struggle thinking fondly of you because I’m not a saint without a full range of emotions. All of it, from love to hatred, awe to disappointment, and happiness to hurt – is put aside in the prayer closet to bring what I know of your needs and desires and what’s best for all of us – before God. You have me as a prayer partner and are mentioned as beloved in my quiet petitions before God!

I see answers to some of these prayers immediately. I praise God for other things and ask more fervently awaiting some answers. Know this: all of cyclingdom has been covered in prayer regardless of my limitations. If you’re reading this, I’ve prayed specifically for your spiritual growth, cycling success, financial stability, emotional wholeness, mental prowess, and relational fulfillment.

I’m watching change in our sport amazed by transformation wrought by new developments. I’m experiencing change and transforming personally. Sometimes the biggest mountains we have to move are not one another but ourselves…closer to God’s viewpoint. God has moved me many times this year as a privilege in prayer for you. For this, I thank you greatly. Join me in prayer. Pray for me and all of us as we keep riding!

Prayer for Us, The Cycling Community

“If I acted crazy, I did it for God; if I acted overly serious, I did it for you. Christ’s love has moved me to such extremes. His love has the first and last word in everything we do. Our firm decision is to work from this focused center…”  242 Corinthians 5:13-14

I confess my imperfection and am glad that You give me new perspective on everyone in the cycling community because You love all of us. Bless us all, O Lord.

Ponder Has prayer changed you? Affirm I pray until I see you through eyes of love; because of my limitations, I must keep praying! Watch God change our sport one heart at a time.

23“Eyes on the road: The Steve Cummings Giro diary 2007,” Monday, May 28, 2007 “Ready to have a go” posted on www.cyclingnews.com

24The Message, Copyright © 1993, 1994, 1995, 1996, 2000, 2001, 2002 by Eugene H. Peterson

Leave a Reply

